The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato
Waikato Management School
Te Raupapa

Research Portfolio

Professorial Researchers

Detailed profiles are provided for the entire Waikato Management School faculty on staff web pages which are accessible via the Staff Directory and School web pages. In this section, the School's professorial faculty are briefly introduced.

  1. Dr Ron Bird is a Professor in Finance. His research interests largely concentrate in the investments areas and those areas that interface with financial reporting. Since 1999, his interest have progressively moved towards increasing our understanding of the extent to which markets fail and the costs imposed on the community as a consequence of these failures.
  2. Dr Delwyn Clark is a Professor of Strategic Management. Her current research interests focuses on strategy models, innovation processes and micro-enterprises.
  3. Dr Tim Coltman is a Professor and Dean of the Waikato Management School.  His research interests include managing innovation, research that makes a difference to business and society.  His disciplinary strengths are in strategy, technology management, innovation, entrepreneurship and supply chain management.
  4. Dr Howard Davey is a Professor of Professional Accounting. He specialises in external reporting, financial accounting and accounting theory, including non-traditional measures of performance, taxation and professional issues.
  5. Dr Graeme Doole is a Professor of Economics.  His research involves the use of analytical and empirical methods to investigate how best to manage agricultural and natural systems.  A significant proportion of this work involves the formulation of appropriate policy instruments to achieve economic, environmental and social outcomes from the regulation of of agricultural and mining activity.
  6. Dr John Gibson is a Professor of Economics. His research interests are in microeconomics and in the micro econometric aspects of development, labour and the international economy. His other research interests include poverty measurement, the design and analysis of household survey data, and economic development, especially in China and other Asian and Pacific economies.
  7. Dr Siggi Gudergan is a Professorial Fellow at the Waikato Management School, and also a chaired Professor in Strategy within Newcastle Business School in Australia.  His research can be categorised into three areas: Business Strategy & Strategic Management (including entrepreneurship, innovation,organisational change & performance; and international business & management);Services and Customer Decision Making and Partial Least Squares Structural Equation Modelling (PLS-SEM).
  8. Dr Mark Harcourt is a Professor of Strategy and Human Resource Management. He specialises in strategic human resource management, employment rights, discrimination, unions, health and safety, labour turnover and labour relations.
  9. Dr Mark Holmes is a Professor of Economics and Director of the WMS PhD Programme. He specialises in applied macro-economics, international finance, and the economics of the less developed countries.
  10. Dr Stuart Locke is a Professor of Finance.  His main research interests are corporate governance, capital market movements, agribusiness finance, small business finance and personal finance planning
  11. Dr David McKie is a Professor of Leadership Communication. His specialties are public relations, emotional intelligence and action research, leadership, imagination and complexity science.
  12. Dr Debashish Munshi is Professor of Management Communication.  His research focuses on issues of diversity, sustainability and communication.  His current research which focuses on conceptualising the notion of boundaries in the interplay between new technologies and society.
  13. Dr John Oetzel is a Professor of Communication. His research centres on understanding and improving problematic interactions between and among people of different cultural backgrounds.
  14. Dr Les Oxley is Professor of Economics. His research interests include applied econometrics, economic growth, human capital, energy economics, economics of innovation, knowledge economy, intellectual property and cliometrics.
  15. Dr Kathryn Pavlovich is a Professor of Strategy and Human Resource Management.  Her research explores new forms of organising for creative more vibrant and sustainable regional contexts. Her research covers two main areas: The first is cooperative strategy: strategic alliances, networks, clusters and cooperative partnerships; the second area involves the development of our inner technologies: spirituality, reflection, mindfulness and conscious leadership
  16. Dr Juliet Roper is a Professor of Management Communication. Her main interests lie in the area of corporate communication and public affairs, focusing on public relations and sustainability.
  17. Dr Chris Ryan is a Professor of Tourism and Hospitality Management and the Editor of Tourism Management. He is interested in research methods and epistemologies, and in tourist behaviours and the consequences of those behaviours in terms of impacts - social, psychological and environmental; and in business organisations that shape those tourist experiences.
  18. Dr Grant Samkin is a Professor of Accounting.  His main research interests are in three broad themes.  These are narrative or non-financial reporting (including Corporate Social Responsibility, sustainability and intellectual capital issues); education and accounting history.
  19. Dr Riccardo Scarpa is a Professor in Environmental Economics. His main research interest is modelling behavioural choices to derive estimates for non-market environmental goods. His research focuses on recreational travel cost models to forest sites; the valuation of cultural heritage and museums and assessing the recreational value of environmentally protected areas.
  20. Dr Frank Scrimgeour is the Professor in Environmental Economics, and Head of the School of Accounting, Finance and Economics. His research specialties are in the areas of economic of agriculture and agribusiness, the economics of the environment, the economics of regional development and Māori development, and financial economics and governance, environmental and natural resource economics.
  21. Dr Rajeev Sharma is a Professor and Associate Dean Strategic Projects.  His research interests include business analytics and organizational performance, business analytics and managerial search, IT and organizational performance, dynamic capabilities and method bias.
  22. Dr Kay Weaver is a Professor of Management Communication and Dean of the School of Graduate Research. Her research draws on a range of theoretical and methodological approaches including theories of reception and communication effects, feminist and poststructuralist analysis.

This page has been reformatted for printing.