The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato
Waikato Management School
Te Raupapa

Waikato Management School Business Advisory Board

Below is the list of of representatives on the Business Advisory Board. Just select one of the names and find out more about them and their current roles.

  • Bowler, Kevin - Chairperson
  • Bowker, Troy
  • Craig, Neil
  • Cooper, Linda
  • Dibley, Garth
  • Douglas, Brett
  • Falkenstein, Tony
  • Jacobsen, Veronica
  • Jager, Lain
  • Johnson, Nikki
  • McLean, Parekawhia
  • Reynolds, Peter Dr
  • Tainui, Wayne

Kevin Bowler

Chief Executive Officer
Frucor Beverages

Troy Bowker

Executive Chairman
Caniwi Capital

Neil Craig

Director & Executive Chairman
Craigs Investment Partners
Bay of Plenty

Linda Cooper

Linda Cooper

Chief Financial Officer
Livestock Improvement Corporation (LIC)

Linda joined LIC as Chief Financial Officer in late 2010.

She has come full circle, growing up on a small dairy farm in the Waikato, obtaining a Bachelor of Management Studies (Hons) from Waikato University, and then as a qualified Chartered Accountant working for many years in various finance and management roles for Fisher and Paykel Appliances Ltd, including 12 years in the USA.

She then returned to the Waikato and a job at Livestock Improvement Corporation (LIC), a cooperative owned by NZ dairy farmers that focuses on genetics, herd improvement, software and automation products.

Her role includes supporting LIC strategy and ensuring the health and sustainability of LICs finances, legal risk management and procurement. Financial health includes compliance aspects, reporting internally and externally and ensuring the right capital and resources are available to support the co-operatives strategy and its farmers.

She has a strong interest in animal welfare and travelling beyond NZ shores.

She is an alumni of the Agri Womens Development Trust Leadership Programme, Board member of Government Science for Technological Innovation Programme and is an ex Chair of Waikato SPCA.

Garth Dibley

Chief Executive Officer
WEL Networks

Brett Douglas


Tony Falkenstein, ONZM

Tony Falkenstein

Chief Executive Officer
Just Water

Tony Falkenstein is a the CEO and major shareholder of publicly-listed Just Water International Ltd and a director and shareholder of PureSEO Ltd.

He has been prominent in business education, establishing New Zealand’s first Business High School in 2003, as a precursor to ‘business’ becoming a subject in the New Zealand Curriculum.

Tony was inducted into the New Zealand Business Hall of Fame in 2008, was appointed as an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit (ONZM) in 2010 and was selected as a Distinguished Alumni of the University of Auckland in 2011. In 2012 Tony received a KEA World Class New Zealand Award for ‘New Thinking’. In December 2012, Tony was the first New Zealander to be inducted into the international ‘Beta, Gamma Sigma’ Society, in recognition of his professional achievements.

Veronica Jacobsen

Policy Director, Science, Innovation and International branch
Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE)
15 Stout Street
PO Box 1473

Lain Jager

Lain Jager

Chief Executive Officer
Zespri International
Bay of Plenty

Lain Jager joined Zespri in 1999 as Human Resources Manager and was promoted to General Manager Supply Chain in July 2004. Lain was appointed Acting Chief Executive in July 2008, and Chief Executive in December 2008.

Before Zespri, Lain was Director, Human Resources at the Sheraton Auckland and prior to that he was Executive Development Manager for Pacific Steel and Human Resources Manager for Sheraton Rotorua. Lain, who grew up in New Plymouth, has a Masters degree in Psychology, Philosophy and English from the University of Waikato.

Nikki Johnson

Nikki Johnson

Chief Executive
NZ Kiwifruit Growers Inc. (NZKGI)

Nikki Johnson has been CEO of New Zealand Kiwifruit Growers Incorporated (NZKGI) since April 2016. NZKGI is the representative organisation for New Zealand kiwifruit growers which works to advocate, protect and enhance their commercial and political interests. In addition to this position, Nikki has served as an Associate Board member on the Agcarm board since 2012. Prior to her position at NZKGI, Nikki was Executive Manager of NZ Citrus Growers Incorporated and was co-Director and co-owner of advisory company Market Access Solutionz for 14 years.

Parekawhia McLean

Parekawhia McLean

Director Regional Relationships, Central North Island
NZ Transport Agency

Parekawhia has been with the Transport Agency since September 2016 after five and a half years as the Chief Executive Officer of Waikato-Tainui/ Te Whakakitenga o Waikato.

Parekawhia has more than 15 years of public policy and public sector management experience including being an advisor to three prime ministers during her time at the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet.

She brings significant stakeholder management and governance experience to the Transport Agency. Parekawhia is also involved in the Transport Agency’s diversity project, developing diversity and inclusion policies for the workplace. For almost seven years she was director of her own company dedicated to advancing the creative potential of Māori knowledge, people and resources.

Parekawhia has Masters’ degrees in Social Sciences from the University of Waikato and in Public Administration and Development Policy from the University of Wisconsin. In 2014, she received a Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Waikato and in 2016 was a finalist in the Board and Management category for the Westpac-Fairfax Women of Influence Awards.

Dr Peter Reynolds

Digital Transformation Director
Capita Plc
London, UK

Wayne Tainui

Head of Manukura Māori Business Team
PriceWaterhouseCoopers (PWC)

This page has been reformatted for printing.